My 10/22 carbine project

For a couple of years now I have been planning to scratch build a .22lr rifle. It took a while to settle on a design. At first I wanted to build a bullpup based on Magpul’s PDR but I later decided that a .22lr wasn’t big enough. If I do build a PDR it will be in 7.62×25 tokarev. I already scratch built a 10/22 pistol but I’m not happy with how it turned out. It’s not very reliable. Only one of my mags would work with it. I made a lot of mistake building it and I know I could do better.

 

The first successful firearm I built. Even though it’s a jam-o-matic.

 

 

I decided to use the internal parts from the pistol and build a 10/22 carbine. I want it compact so it will use a 16.5″ barrel and a folding stock. Don’t have a fancy milling machine or lathe but I don’t need them. The receiver is made from a few parts that bolt together.

 

 

 

More to come tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

